• Home
  • Paranormal FAQ's
  • Stages of a Haunting

Stages of a Haunting


Stage 1

Stage 1 usually revolves around your basic five senses. Cold (or hot) spots, strange noises, odd odors, hearing footsteps, unusual animal activity and the feeling of being watched are common at this time. The odds are very good most people will chalk these experiences up to their imagination and not recall them unless the cycle increases and moves forward. Referred to as a Senses Attack because in the early Cold spots,a poltergeist the activity mainly revolves around the human body's basic senses.


  • Cold spots Strange noises
  • Odd odors and smells
  • Hearing footsteps
  • Unusual animal activity (dogs/cats running from rooms, etc)
  • Feelings of being watched..

Stage 2

Much of the same activity as stage one may occur with an addition of one or many of the following: Whispers, laughs, giggles, moans or shrieking, moving shadows, breezes in closed areas, base apparitions appear as mist, fog or vapor, strong static electricity, marks on floors or walls that are not writings. You may still be writing this off as imagination at this point. This level is where the noises and smells begin to turn into something more direct. Everything is still at its basic level but turned up a few notches.
  • Whispers, Laughs or giggles
  • Moans or shrieking
  • Moving shadows
  • Breezes in closed areas
  • Visible clouds (base apparitions)
  • Strong static electricity
  • Marks on floors or walls (Not writings)

Stage 3

Most haunting fall into this category. Up to stage 2, you may have been able to pretend this is your imagination. At stage 3, you are going to have to admit you have a haunting. At this stage the poltergeist begins to make it's presence felt. The difference is, in the first two levels it could be said that it was the mind playing tricks. But now, it's hard not to notice something real is happening. This is the level that the classic haunting falls into.


  • Lights and other electrical appliances turning on/off
  • Unseen hands grabbing or touching people
  • Writings on walls or pattern markings
  • Doors that open/close or lock/unlock
  • Hearing voices or words clearly
  • Full apparitions or dark figures
  • Showing levels of communication with living people

Stage 4

Advanced poltergeist activity is now moving toward the danger level. It is picking up a clearer consciousness. Object disappear and reappear, move by themselves or appear to fly, furniture may shake or move, people may be shaken or moved, things may be broken for no reason (mirrors, dishes etc). At this stage is when levitation may occur. This is where an advanced poltergeist begins to gain momentum. Moving closer to the danger level and picking up a clearer consciousness.


  • Flying/moving objects
  • Objects disappearing and reappearing elsewhere
  • Shaking furniture
  • Pushing or shaking people
  • Windows, mirrors or other household objects breaking for no reason
  • Levitation

Stage 5

This is the stage when people might be able to be hurt by the tremendous energy being exerted by the poltergeist. Dangerous activities could be noted like; bites, scratches, objects animating, hair pulling, and heavy objects falling. The other events from the earlier stages may or may not have ceased. The people involved may be becoming sleep deprived and terrified. There is no set time frame for any of these stages and it will vary from one case to another. After this stage there is normally a dormant stage and then the cycle would repeat at its own pace, and this activity would no doubt be occur over again. There can be a lot of dangerous activity at this stage.


  • Biting, Slapping or punching
  • Animating objects
  • Use of household electrical systems
  • Hair pulled
  • Heavy objects falling

There are many who believe that there must be a "poltergeist agent" that feeds the spirit with its energy. This is frequently a Pre-teen child, male or female, but may also be a pregnant woman, menstruating female, a child-like adult or a mentally challenged person. The question remains is the person CAUSING this or are they merely a catalyst for this activity?

At this level the poltergeist is at its highest energy point and should be considered dangerous, not because it wants to hurt people, but because it has a great deal of energy and could end up hurting someone with it (either on purpose or by accident).

The time frame here, and for all stages listed, will vary depending on the poltergeist. It could end in days, months or years. After this stage, the poltergeist will usually go dormant and then begin this cycle over again.

These of course are still theories... and we are working as hard as we can to find all of the answers. That is why we do what we do!